FAQ

  • How can I register on Stepout?

    Joining Stepout is easy: fill out some basic information, add a nice profile photo and write an appealing text about yourself. Or take the easy way and sign up using Facebook. That’s just a quicker way to get started, we won’t publish anything on your timeline.

    After that, you’re ready to answer some of our fun match questions and you can start calculating match scores. Have fun!

  • I can’t log in

    Forgot your password? Click the ‘Forgot your password?’ link on the sign in page and follow the instructions.

  • How do I log out?

    To log out:
    - Click the arrow on the top right, next to your profile photo
    - Choose ‘Log out’

    We hope to see you back soon!

  • How do I edit my profile?

    To edit your profile:
    - Click your profile photo on the top right to go to your profile
    - If you want to make changes in your extended profile, choose the ‘Details’ tab
    - Click the field you want to edit
    - Make your changes and hit 'Save'
    - All done!

  • How do I change my answer to a question?

    To change your answer to a question:
    - Click your profile photo on the top right to go to your profile
    - Click ‘Questions & Answers’ on your profile
    - Find the question you want to re-answer and click it
    - Make your changes and hit 'Save'
    - All done!

  • How do I add photos?

    To add photos:
    - Click your profile photo on the top right to go to your profile
    - Click ‘Add a photo’
    - Choose the type of photo you want to add. Remember that profile photos should show your face
    - Choose where you want to get your photo from. You can upload your photos from Facebook or Instagram, but you can also pick a photo from your computer or even make a brand new one with your webcam
    - Follow the steps

    Your profile just got prettier!

  • How do I give access to my private photos?

    For anyone to see your private photos, you have to give them access. Before they can request access to your private photos, you have to accept a chat request from them.

    You’ll find requests to get access to your private photos in your inbox, alongside your chat requests. Your Settings show you a list of people you’ve granted access to, with an option to undo that. So no worries, you can change your mind any time.

  • How can I start a chat?

    On Stepout, only people you want to chat with can start a chat with you. Only after you’ve accepted a chat request, the chatter can commence. Seen someone you want to chat with? Send them a chat request and keep your fingers crossed!

    Note that you can only send a chat request when the other person is looking for someone like you.

  • I want to delete my account

    Are you sure you want to leave us? We’ll miss you a lot!

    If you’re sure you want to delete your account, follow these steps:
    - Go to Settings
    - Click 'Account'
    - Click the link to delete your account
    - Enter your password
    - Click 'Confirm'

    We hope to see you again soon!

  • I want to change my e-mail settings

    On Stepout, you’ll receive 1 update mail per week, and a notification mail when:
    - you have a new message
    - you have a new chat request
    - one of your chat requests got accepted

    To change your e-mail settings, go to Settings, pick the e-mail settings you prefer and hit 'Save'.

  • How do I unblock someone?

    To unblock someone you’ve previously blocked:
    - Go to Settings
    - Click 'Unblock' next to the person that should not be blocked

  • Help, I accidentally gave someone access to my private photos!

    No worries, you can easily revoke someone's access to your private photos afterwards. Simply follow these steps:
    - Go to Settings
    - Scroll to Private photos
    - Click 'Revoke' next to the person that should not be able to see your private photos

  • How can I block a user?

    On all profiles you’ll find ‘More options’ on the top right. One of the options in that list is to block someone. Blocked users can no longer contact or visit you. You won’t see them in your search results either.

    Accidentally blocked someone? No worries, you can undo this at any time via your Settings.

  • Can people I have blocked still write me messages?

    Blocked persons can no longer contact or visit you. Furthermore, on Stepout people can only chat with you after you have accepted their chat request. That way we make sure you only get to chat with the people you want to chat with. All the more fun!

  • How do I unblock someone?

    To unblock someone you’ve previously blocked:
    - Go to Settings
    - Click 'Unblock' next to the person that should not be blocked

  • How do you calculate match scores?

    Our matching algorithm focuses on three values that are collected from the answers you’ve given to our match questions: your answer, how you’d like someone else to answer and how important the question is to you. We understand that not everyone is a fan of calculations and maths, so we won’t overwhelm you with the details. However, rest assured that the complexity of all calculations ensures that the matches are as accurate as possible. We want you to meet more people who float your boat!

  • How can I know how well I match with my friends?

    For people on Stepout, that’s easy: simply visit their profile and you’ll see the match score right there.

    However, finding out how much you match with some of your old time friends is just crazy fun, so we’ve provided you with a way to do that too, without them having to sign up on Stepout! Simply send them an invite or share your personal link with them, we’ll do the math for you!

Contact us

Didn't find the answer to your question in the FAQ? Have a great idea you want to share with us? Explain your question or remark below, we'll get back to you as soon as possible.